DroguierClassified as the second largest in France after Paris, the Droguier of Montpellier bears witness to a long medical and pharmaceutical tradition. Created at the end of the 16th century following the creation of the Jardin des plantes, it contains a rare collection of more than 10,000 samples, mainly plants. Regularly enriched, this living museum is a valuable tool for understanding the history of "drugs" (plants, minerals, animal substances with medicinal or food activity) and the discovery of new medicines. Now housed within the Faculty of Pharmacy, the Droguier de Montpellier has been listed as a Historic Monument since 20 November 2009.

Droguier The Droguier de Montpellier contains nearly 10,000 drug samples. Built up over the centuries, through travel and exchanges with the whole world, these collections are still very much alive, and continue to be enriched by donations and legacies. But also through work: the drug house is now a very active centre for education and research.

A place of teaching, research and cultural discoveries, the droguier is a Mecca for ethnopharmacology: a science that examines the traditional knowledge linked to the use of plants and what they can teach us. Rather complex knowledge... Because a plant is a real cocktail of chemical compounds, which varies according to many parameters: the season, the soil in which it grows, the sunshine...

A long history

In the middle of the 16th century, Guillaume de Rondelet, Regent of the University of Medicine, created the first botanical garden in Montpellier. As early as 1588, a drugstore took shape on the initiative of a Montpellier apothecary: Bernardin II Duranc, who decided to set up a sample in his "shop" in the rue de l'Aiguillerie to teach the "escholiers carabins" the virtues of plants. The doors of the university were opened to a master apothecary... Heir to this first druggist's shop, the Droguier de Montpellier was moved in 1963 to the new premises of the Faculty of Pharmacy.

Contact

Faculty of Pharmacy
15 avenue Charles Flahaut
34 000 Montpellier
Tramway: line 1, stop Boutonnet
Tel: 04 11 75 95 18
Email

Guided tours are available by appointment.

Droguier

Droguier 2017-11-27T15:49:01+00:00

DroguierClassé deuxième de France après celui de Paris, le Droguier de Montpellier témoigne d’une longue tradition médicale et pharmaceutique. Constitué à la fin du XVIe siècle à la suite de la création du Jardin des plantes, il rassemble une collection rare : plus de 10 000 échantillons, essentiellement végétaux. Régulièrement enrichi, ce musée vivant constitue un outil précieux pour appréhender l’histoire des « drogues » (végétaux, minéraux, substances animales ayant une activité médicinale ou alimentaire) et la découverte de nouveaux médicaments. Aujourd’hui accueilli au sein de la Faculté de pharmacie, le Droguier de Montpellier est inscrit au titre des Monuments Historiques depuis le 20 novembre 2009.

Droguier Le Droguier de Montpellier renferme près de 10 000 échantillons de drogues. Constituées au fil des siècles, des voyages et des échanges avec le monde entier, ces collections restent très vivantes, et continuent à s’enrichir de dons et de legs. Mais aussi de travaux : le droguier est aujourd’hui un très actif centre de pédagogie et de recherche.

Lieu d’enseignement, de recherche et de découvertes culturelles, le droguier est un haut lieu de l’ethnopharmacologie : cette science qui se penche sur les savoirs traditionnels liés à l’utilisation des plantes et sur ce qu’ils ont à nous apprendre. Des savoirs plutôt complexes… Car une plante est un véritable cocktail de composés chimiques, qui varie en fonction de nombreux paramètres : la saison, le sol sur lequel elle pousse, l’ensoleillement…

Une longue histoire

Au milieu du XVIe siècle, Guillaume de Rondelet, régent de l’université de médecine, crée le premier jardin botanique de Montpellier. Dès 1588, un droguier prend forme à l’initiative d’un apothicaire montpelliérain : Bernardin II Duranc, qui décide dans sa « boutique » de la rue de l’Aiguillerie de constituer un échantillonnage afin d’enseigner aux « escholiers carabins » les vertus des plantes. Les portes de l’université s’ouvraient à un maître apothicaire… Héritier de ce premier droguier, le Droguier de Montpellier a été transporté en 1963 dans les nouveaux locaux de la Faculté de pharmacie.

Contact

Faculté de pharmacie
15 avenue Charles Flahaut
34 000 Montpellier
Tramway : ligne 1, arrêt Boutonnet
Tél. : 04 11 75 95 18
Courriel

Les visites guidées sont organisées sur rendez-vous.