Montpellier is known worldwide for its medical education. The city owes this reputation to its faculty, founded in 1220: the oldest medical school in the Western world still in existence.

Since 1795, the Faculty of Medicine has occupied one of the most beautiful buildings in Montpellier: the former episcopal palace, formerly the Saint Benoit-Saint Germain monastery. A place steeped in history, which hundreds of students now bring to life in the present day...

This building alone is an architectural treasure with its monumental hall, its ceremonial rooms, its main courtyard and its anatomy amphitheatre. This ensemble was listed as a Historic Monument in 2004.

Cloister UFR DroitThe Faculty of Law and Political Science has been housed in the former Visitation Convent since 1959. Built in 1631 under the reign of Louis XIII, this building is part of the rich heritage of Montpellier's historic centre. It is the only building in the city, along with the Ursuline Convent, to have retained its cloister and chapel in their entirety. These vestiges of its first ecclesiastical vocation bear witness to the intense religious activity that took place in the vicinity of Saint-Pierre Cathedral from the late Middle Ages to the 18th century.

Once past the vast "Aula Placentinea" - the large hall that you encounter when you enter the main entrance of the faculty - you have immediate access to the 17th century cloister. With its cross-vaulted ceiling, it offers a sober, uncluttered elegance.

The legal history library contains rare and precious old volumes, largely devoted to Roman scholarly law, of which the faculty was one of the jewels in the medieval crown.

triolet campusIn 1964, the Montpellier Faculty of Sciences moved from the buildings it occupied on rue de l'Université (where the current rectorate is located) to the new university campus on Place Eugène Bataillon. This construction was part of the Fifth Republic's desire to develop research and to provide higher education institutions with modern premises capable of receiving a growing number of students.

The Ministry of Education chose the technical advisor René Egger for its construction programme. His firm drew up standard plans for French scientific universities but left it to local architects to develop them.

In Montpellier, the architect Philippe Jaulmes chose an airy, wooded site with buildings adapted to the Mediterranean light. He also commissioned works from young artists who are now world-renowned, such as Pierre Parsus, François Rouan, Victor Vasarely and his son Yvaral, Albert Dupin and Yaacov Agam, within the framework of the 1% artistic scheme*. The work was completed in 1967.

* Initiated in 1951, this legal provision institutes the creation of works by contemporary visual artists associated with public architectural creations. Since its inception, the 1% art fund has financed approximately 12,300 works.

In the heart of Montpellier, the Institute of Botany is the guardian of the city's plant garden, the oldest in France. Charles Flahault, an illustrious botanist and director of the institute, supervised the construction of the buildings in 1889. The premises were inaugurated in April 1890 and visited in May by Sadi Carnot, President of the French Republic, during the university's 6th centenary. After 50 years of operation, the building was renovated and extended; the new buildings were inaugurated in 1959.

The Institute of Botany enabled Charles Flahault to bring together all of Montpellier's herbariums in one place. Today, it houses a treasure within its venerable walls: the prestigious Montpellier herbarium, the second largest herbarium in France after that of the Muséum national d'Histoire naturelle in terms of the volume and quality of its collections. A research tool as well as a heritage tool, the Montpellier herbarium contains around 3.5 million plant samples.

At the end of the 19th century, the coastline of Sète was considered a very rich zoological complex. To simplify the weekly zoological excursions and facilitate research, the zoology professor Armand Sabatier decided to found a marine biology station there.

In 1879, the city of Sète provided him with modest premises. Shortly afterwards, he obtained a plot of land on the shore of the Etang de Thau for the construction of the zoological station. Inaugurated in 1896, it included all the services necessary for research and teaching.

With its rich collections gathered in a zoological museum including numerous ichthyological (fish) and conchyliological (shell mollusc) samples, the marine biology station of Sète acquired an international reputation. After a century of existence and important restorations of the buildings, it remains an active centre of scientific research.

Patrimoine immobilier

Patrimoine immobilier 2017-11-27T15:51:00+00:00

Montpellier est mondialement connue dans le domaine de l’enseignement de la médecine. Une renommée que la ville doit à sa faculté, fondée en 1220 : la plus ancienne école de médecine du monde occidental encore existante.

Depuis 1795, la faculté de médecine occupe l’un des plus beaux bâtiments de Montpellier : l’ancien palais épiscopal, précédemment monastère Saint Benoit-Saint Germain. Un lieu chargé d’histoire, que des centaines d’étudiants font aujourd’hui vivre au temps présent…

Ce bâtiment constitue à lui seul un trésor architectural avec son hall monumental, ses salles d’apparat, sa cour d’honneur ou encore son amphithéâtre d’anatomie. Cet ensemble a été inscrit au titre des Monuments Historiques en 2004.

Cloître UFR DroitLa Faculté de droit et de science politique est installée depuis 1959 dans l’ancien Couvent de la Visitation. Construit en 1631 sous le règne de Louis XIII, ce bâtiment fait partie du riche patrimoine bâti du centre historique de Montpellier. C’est le seul bâtiment de la ville, avec le couvent des Ursulines, à conserver intégralement son cloître et sa chapelle. Ces vestiges de sa première vocation ecclésiastique témoignent aujourd’hui de l’intense activité religieuse qui prit place aux abords de la cathédrale Saint-Pierre, de la fin du Moyen-Âge au XVIIIe siècle.

Une fois passée la vaste « Aula Placentinea » – grand hall que l’on rencontre en empruntant l’entrée principale de la faculté – l’accès est immédiat au cloître du XVIIe siècle. Voûté d’arêtes, il offre un ensemble sobre, à l’élégance dépouillée.

La bibliothèque d’histoire du droit renferme de rares et précieux volumes anciens, largement consacrés au droit savant romain dont la faculté fut l’un des fleurons médiévaux.

campus trioletLa Faculté des sciences de Montpellier déménage dès 1964 des bâtiments qu’elle occupait rue de l’Université (à l’emplacement de l’actuel rectorat) pour le nouveau campus universitaire place Eugène Bataillon. Cette construction s’inscrit dans la volonté de la Ve République de développer la recherche et de doter les institutions d’enseignement supérieur de locaux modernes et capables de recevoir un nombre croissant d’étudiants.

Le ministère de l’éducation choisit pour son programme de construction le conseiller technique René Egger. Son cabinet dresse des plans types des universités scientifiques françaises mais laisse à des architectes locaux le soin de les décliner.

À Montpellier, l’architecte Philippe Jaulmes fait le choix d’un site aéré et boisé avec des bâtiments adaptés à la lumière méditerranéenne. Il commande également des œuvres dans le cadre du 1 % artistique* à de jeunes artistes aujourd’hui mondialement connus, Pierre Parsus, François Rouan, Victor Vasarely et son fils Yvaral, Albert Dupin ou encore Yaacov Agam. Les travaux sont terminés en 1967.

* Initiée en 1951, cette disposition légale institue la création d’œuvres d’artistes-plasticiens contemporains associés à des créations architecturales publiques. Depuis sa mise en place, le 1 % artistique a permis de financer environ 12 300 œuvres.

Au cœur de Montpellier, l’Institut de botanique est le gardien du jardin des plantes de la ville, le plus ancien de France. Charles Flahault, illustre botaniste et directeur de l’institut, supervise dès 1889 la construction des bâtiments. Les locaux sont inaugurés en avril 1890 et visités en mai par Sadi Carnot, président de la République française, lors du VIe centenaire de l’université. Après 50 ans de fonctionnement, l’édifice est rénové et agrandi ; les nouveaux bâtiments sont inaugurés en 1959.

L’institut de botanique a notamment permis à Charles Flahault de rassembler l’ensemble des herbiers de Montpellier dans un seul et même lieu. Aussi abrite-t-il aujourd’hui un trésor dans ses murs vénérables : le prestigieux herbier de Montpellier, 2e herbier de France après celui du Muséum national d’Histoire naturelle par le volume et la qualité de ses collections. Outil de recherche aussi bien qu’outil patrimonial, l’herbier de Montpellier comprend environ 3,5 millions d’échantillons de plantes.

À la fin du XIXe siècle, le littoral de Sète est considéré comme un complexe zoologique d’une très grande richesse. Pour simplifier les excursions zoologiques hebdomadaires et faciliter la recherche, le professeur de zoologie Armand Sabatier décide d’y fonder une station de biologie marine.

Dès 1879, des locaux modestes lui sont mis à disposition par la ville de Sète. Peu après, il obtient un terrain sur le littoral de l’étang de Thau pour la construction de la station zoologique. Inaugurée en 1896, elle comprend tous les services indispensables à la recherche et à l’enseignement.

Dotée de riches collections réunies dans un musée zoologique comprenant de nombreux échantillons ichthyologiques (relatifs aux poissons), conchyliologiques (relatifs aux mollusques à coquille), la station de biologie marine de Sète acquiert un rayonnement et une renommée internationale. Après un siècle d’existence et d’importantes restaurations des bâtiments, elle reste un centre actif de recherches scientifiques.