The scientific departments, created in 2015 by article 5-4 of the statutes of the University of Montpellier, are extended in their HR competences until 31/08/2022.

List of Scientific Departments

Head of Department: Bruno Touraine

General presentation: The Biology-Agrosciences Scientific Department groups together the laboratories (mixed research units, UMR) under the supervision of the University of Montpellier working in the vast field of biological sciences related to agronomy. This group covers all disciplines related to plant biology in the broad sense, from molecular biology to ecophysiology, microorganism-host-environment interactions, and biotechnologies and bioprocesses using agricultural resources for food or non-food purposes. By federating these UMRs of the University of Montpellier, the Biology-Agrosciences Scientific Department ensures the link between world-renowned research and university training in these fields.

Disciplines: Plant Biology; Biology of Microorganism/Host-Environment Interactions; Biotechnology; Bioprocessing for food and non-food purposes.

Keywords: Fundamental plant biology on model organisms; Microbiology; Plant breeding; Crop protection; Beneficial interactions; Adaptation of plants to environmental constraints; Food quality; Food safety; Valorisation of plant production for food or non-food purposes; Biomaterials; Biofuels.

Outreach : The Montpellier site is the leading French research site in the field of Plant Sciences. It brings together numerous UMRs and research teams specialising in interactions between micro-organisms and eukaryotic organisms, which enjoy an international reputation. It also excels in the field of Process Sciences applied to agro-resources for food and non-food applications. The Montpellier facility is therefore characterised by the coverage of a wide range of disciplines focused on the acquisition of fundamental knowledge on model biological systems, plant breeding, crop protection, plant adaptation to environmental constraints, the role of microorganisms in agronomy and the environment, food quality and safety, and the valorisation of plant production for food and non-food purposes. The wide variety of study models facilitates the development of translational biology approaches, allowing data acquired on model biological systems to be transferred to species and conditions of agronomic interest and/or to biotechnological applications. Thanks to its broad disciplinary coverage, its ability to link basic research and applications and its unique position between northern and southern countries, the Montpellier site is internationally recognised in the fields of biology and agrosciences.

Website

Research units

Head of Department: Adam Ali

General presentation: the domain of our community covers fundamental and applied environmental sciences, concerning the biotic and physical environment. Our disciplinary field thus includes ecology, the study of evolutionary history and processes, the reconstruction of past climates, the study of the deep and superficial envelopes of the Earth, their couplings and the flows of energy and matter between them. We are developing applications in the fields of agronomy, fisheries, domestication, health, natural water and soil hazards, and resource management.

Keywords : Environment; Population dynamics; Ecology; Resource management; Geology; Hydrology.

Outreach: our department is integrated, in coordination with research and development organisations, into one of the world's leading sites in environmental disciplines. Our site is also distinguished by its involvement in development cooperation with the countries of the South, in our various application sectors.

Research units

Website

Head of Department: Jean-Yves Le Guennec

General presentation: The Scientific Department entitled: "Scientific Department Biology-Health" (DSBS), is in charge of coordinating research and strengthening the research-training link in the thematic field of Biology-Health. The Scientific Department Biology-Health includes 25 research structures and 3 support and research units.

Disciplines: Biology; Biotechnology; Medicine; Pharmacology; Physiology; Odontology.

Keywords : Cancer; Genetics; Epigenetics; Infectiology; Experimental and regenerative medicine; Neuroscience.

Rayonnement : The excellence of the research structures within the DSBS can be measured through the numerous ERCs obtained during the last contract and the high publication rate which makes the UM one of the leading universities in France in fundamental biology. It also hosts many ATIP/AVENIR teams.

Website

Research units

Head of Department: Joulia Larionova

General presentation:
The Scientific Department of Chemistry groups together 5 research structures located on different sites as well as 3 technological platforms and 2 research service platforms open to the whole community are attached to the Department:
On the other hand, it associates 6 Training and Research Units, Schools and Institutes:

and 3 Doctoral Schools:

The Department has a permanent staff of 533 people attached to various supervisory bodies (UM, CNRS, ENSCM and CEA), including 226 teacher-researchers, 134 researchers and 173 research support staff.
The research and development activities are based on the skills of the constituent research structures with their own specificities, with the sole objective of developing chemistry for the benefit of mankind and its environment, with three priority areas: health and protection of mankind, sustainable chemistry and energy, materials and vectors.
The Department is at the interface with 4 other Scientific Departments of the University of Montpellier: MIPS, Biology - Health, Biology - AgroSciences and B3ESTE.
Moreover, at the level of the whole community of chemists, it is part of the Pôle Chimie Balard which groups together all the chemists of the Montpellier academy (www.polechimie-balard.fr).

Disciplines: Chemical Sciences and its interfaces

Keywords: Chemistry for health, biology and pharmacy, green and sustainable chemistry, materials and processes for energy.

Website

Research units

Head of Department: Edmond Baranes

General presentation :

The Scientific Department of Economics is one of the 9 scientific departments of the University of Montpellier. Its main mission is to coordinate research and strengthen the research-training link in Economics.

The Economics Department brings together teacher-researchers and researchers and technical staff from organisations such as CNRS, INRA, CIRAD, etc. In total, there are more than 70 teacher-researchers and researchers working in the field of economics research and developing interdisciplinary and multidisciplinary projects in connection with the Economics field.

The research work and activities of the Scientific Department of Economics are mainly based on four themes:

  • Sectoral public policies, innovation and sustainable development;
  • Health policies, emerging norms and equity;
  • Development, agriculture and public policy in the territories;
  • Environmental economics, natural resources and biodiversity.

The Economics Department is also involved in three LabEx: LabEx Agro-Fondation Agropolis, LaBex CeMEB and LabEx Entreprendre.

Disciplines: Economics

Keywords: Public policy; Development and Territories; Social ethics; Competition; Industries; Digital economy; Energy; Transport; Health; Regulation; Environment; Natural resources; Biodiversity.

Research units

Head of Department: Sylvain Wagnon

General presentation: The Education Department brings together two research structures, LIRDEF (Interdisciplinary Laboratory in Didactics Education Training - EA 3749) and SanteSih (Health, Education and Disability Situations - EA 4614), whose work covers the issues of teaching/learning, vocational training in a variety of contexts (school, social, health, etc.) and the production and reduction of disability situations.

Disciplines: Education Sciences; Didactics of disciplines (maths, sciences, languages, arts, etc.); STAPS; Political Sciences; Sociology; Psychology.

Keywords : Education; Teaching; Learning; Training; Disability; Public policy.

Research units

Head of Department: Véronique Bessière

General presentation : The Management scientific department gathers within the Montpellier Research in Management (MRM) laboratory all the management research teams of the University of Montpellier, Montpellier Business School and the University of Perpignan Via Domitia. MRM has more than 140 permanent researchers and 90 PhD students, making it one of the largest management laboratories in France.
As a management laboratory, it is mainly affiliated to the Montpellier Doctoral School of Economics and Management (EDEG, ED n°231).
Since September 2011, MRM is the coordinating laboratory of the LABEX "Entreprendre".
Disciplines: Management.

Keywords: Management; Innovation; Responsible management; Accounting; Entrepreneurship; Finance; HRM; Marketing; Strategy, Information systems. Altermanagement.

Website

Research units

Head of Department: Marc Herzlich

General presentation: The scientific department "Mathematics, Computer Science, Physics and Systems" (MIPS) brings together the research laboratories of the University of Montpellier in all disciplines of mathematics, physical sciences and information and communication sciences and technologies.
The 7 laboratories of the department bring together about 500 permanent teacher-researchers and researchers and 400 non-permanent researchers and teachers (including 300 PhD students), working in all the fields of the MIPS sector. They are supported by more than 200 technical and administrative staff. The department also runs 8 technological or research service platforms with high-performance research equipment.
The department also contributes to strengthening the link between research and university education in its thematic area, in association with the Faculty of Science, the Faculty of Medicine, the Montpellier University Polytechnic School (Polytech Montpellier) and the 3 University Institutes of Technology of the University of Montpellier.

Disciplines: Mathematics; Computer Science; Physics and Astrophysics; Mechanics and Civil Engineering; Electronics, Micro and Nano Electronics; Robotics.

Outreach : The laboratories of the MIPS Scientific Department are internationally recognised in all disciplines of the thematic sector. They are home to 2 winners of European Research Council (ERC) calls for projects, 7 members of the Institut Universitaire de France (and 7 former members) and 8 recipients of CNRS medals and prizes. They are involved in 4 Laboratories of Excellence (LabEx) and 4 Equipments of Excellence (EquipEx) funded by the Programme Investissements d'Avenir. In particular, the Scientific Department was at the origin of the LabEx NuMEV http://www.lirmm.fr/numev/ (Numerical and Material Solutions for the Environment and Life) intended to strengthen the interfaces between the "hard sciences" and the whole of the biology and environment research of the Montpellier site. These top-level research activities enable the University of Montpellier to rank highly in many international rankings specialising in 'physics and astronomy', 'physical sciences and engineering' or 'mathematics and computer science'.

Website

Research units

Départements scientifiques

Les départements scientifiques, créés par l’article 5-4 des statuts de l’Université de Montpellier, sont des composantes de l’Université chargées :

  • de la coordination de la recherche dans un domaine thématique donné
  • et du renforcement du lien recherche-formation.

Ils exercent leurs missions en cohérence avec la politique d’établissement, en lien avec les unités de formation et de recherche (UFR), écoles et instituts de l’Université et en coordination avec les pôles thématiques de site organisés au sein de la communauté d’universités et établissements (COMUE) dont l’Université de Montpellier est membre.

Le texte de cadrage présente les dispositions communes relatives aux compétences et à l’organisation du fonctionnement de ces composantes.

Biologie agrosciences

Directeur du département : Bruno Touraine

Présentation générale : Le Département Scientifique Biologie-Agrosciences regroupe les laboratoires (unités mixtes de recherche, UMR) ayant l’Université de Montpellier comme tutelle travaillant dans le vaste domaine des sciences biologiques en lien avec l’agronomie. Cet ensemble recouvre toutes les disciplines relevant de la Biologie des Plantes au sens large, de la biologie moléculaire à l’écophysiologie, des Interactions Microorganismes/Hôtes-Environnements et des Biotechnologies et Bioprocédés utilisant les agroressources à des fins alimentaires ou non alimentaires. En fédérant ces UMR de l’Université de Montpellier, le Département Scientifique Biologie-Agrosciences assure le lien entre une recherche de réputation mondiale et les formations universitaires dans ces domaines.

Disciplines : Biologie des Plantes ; Biologie des Interactions Microorganismes/Hôtes-Environnements ; Biotechnologies ; Bioprocédés à des fins alimentaires et non alimentaires.

Mots-clés : Biologie végétale fondamentale sur organismes modèles ; Microbiologie ; Sélection végétale ; protection des cultures ; Interactions bénéfiques ; Adaptation des plantes aux contraintes de l’environnement ; Qualité des aliments ; Sécurité alimentaire ; Valorisation des productions végétales à des fins alimentaires ou non alimentaires ; Biomatériaux ; Biocarburants.

Rayonnement : Le site montpelliérain est le premier site de recherche français dans le domaine des Sciences du Végétal. Il regroupe de nombreuses UMR et équipes de recherche spécialisées dans les Interactions entre microorganismes et organismes eucaryotes jouissant d’une réputation internationale. Il excelle aussi dans le domaine des Sciences des Procédés appliquées aux Agroressources pour l’alimentaire et le non-alimentaire. Le dispositif montpelliérain se caractérise donc par la couverture d’un large spectre de disciplines tournées vers l’acquisition de connaissances fondamentales sur des systèmes biologiques modèles, la sélection végétale, la protection des cultures, l’adaptation des plantes à des contraintes environnementales, le rôle des microorganismes en agronomie et dans l’environnement, la qualité et la sécurité alimentaires et la valorisation des productions végétales à des fins alimentaires ou non alimentaires. La grande variété des modèles d’étude facilite le développement d’approches de biologie translationnelle, permettant le passage de données acquises sur des systèmes biologiques modèles vers des espèces et conditions d’intérêt agronomique et/ou vers des applications biotechnologiques. Du fait de sa large couverture disciplinaire, de sa capacité à relier recherche fondamentale et applications et de sa place unique entre pays du Nord et pays du Sud, le site montpelliérain occupe une place internationalement reconnue dans les domaines Biologie-Agrosciences.

Site web

Unités de recherche

Plateformes technologiques ou de services pour la Recherche

  • Atelier de technologie alimentaire

Biologie, écologie, évolution, environnement, sciences de la terre et de l’eau

Directeur du département : François Rousset

Présentation générale : Le domaine de notre communauté recouvre les sciences environnementales fondamentales et appliquées, concernant l’environnement biotique et physique. Notre champ disciplinaire inclut donc l’écologie, l’étude de l’histoire et des processus évolutifs, la reconstruction des climats, l’étude des enveloppes profondes à superficielle de la terre, leurs couplages et les flux d’énergie et de matière entre elles. Nous développons des applications dans les domaines de l’agronomie, des pêches, de la domestication, de la santé, des risques naturels hydriques et telluriques, et de la gestion des ressources.

Mots-clés : Environnement ; Dynamique des populations ; Ecologie ; Gestion des ressources ; Géologie ; Hydrologie.

Rayonnement : Notre Département s’intègre, en coordination avec les organismes de recherche et de développement, à l’un des principaux sites européens dans les disciplines environnementales. Notre site se distingue aussi par son implication dans la coopération pour le développement avec les pays du Sud, dans nos différents secteurs d’application.

Unités de recherche

Plateformes technologiques ou de services pour la Recherche

  • Microsonde Sud

Biologie santé

Directeur du département : Jean-Yves Le Guennec

Présentation générale : Le Département Scientifique intitulé : « Département Scientifique Biologie-Santé» (DSBS), est chargé de la coordination de la recherche et du renforcement du lien recherche-formation dans le domaine thématique Biologie-Santé. Le Département Scientifique Biologie-Santé regroupe 28 structures de recherche et 5 plateformes technologiques.

Disciplines : Biologie ; Biotechnologies ; Médecine ; Pharmacologie ; Physiologie ; Odontologie.

Mots-clés : Cancer ; Génétique ; Epigénétique ; Infectiologie ; Médecine expérimentale et régénératrice ; Neurosciences.

Rayonnement : L’excellence de la recherche des structures de recherche au sein du DSBS se mesure au travers des nombreuses ERC obtenus lors du dernier contrat et du taux de publication élevé qui fait de l’UM une des premières universités en France en biologie fondamentale. Elle accueille aussi de nombreuses équipes ATIP/AVENIR.

Unités de recherche

Plateformes technologiques ou de services pour la Recherche

  • Centre d’élevage et de conditionnement expérimental des modèles animaux
  • Etude de recherche clinique en nutrition humaine pour les partenaires académiques et les industriels des secteurs biologie, santé et agroalimentaire
  • Plateau technique de chirurgie expérimentale Montpellier
  • Plateau technique de recherche du site nîmois de l’UFR de médecine
  • Pôle régional d’analyse du mouvement humain

Chimie

Directrice du département : Joulia Larionova

Présentation générale :
Le Département Scientifique Chimie regroupe 6 structures de recherche localisées sur des sites différents ainsi que 3 plateformes technologiques et 2 plateformes de services pour la recherche ouvertes pour l’ensemble de la communauté sont rattachés au Département :
D’autre part, il associe 6 Unités de Formation et de Recherche, Ecoles et Instituts :

et 3 Ecoles Doctorales :

Le Département regroupe 533 personnes en effectif permanent rattachées à différentes tutelles (UM, CNRS, ENSCM et CEA) parmi lesquelles se trouvent 226 enseignants-chercheurs, 134 chercheurs et 173 personnes pour le soutien à la recherche.
Les activités de la recherche et de la valorisation sont basées sur les compétences de structures de recherche constitutives présentant leurs propres spécificités avec l’objectif unique de développer la chimie au service de l’homme et de son environnement avec trois axes prioritaires : santé et protection de l’homme, chimie durable et énergie, matériaux et vecteurs.
Le Département se trouve à l’interface avec 4 autres Départements Scientifiques de l’Université de Montpellier : MIPS, Biologie – Santé, Biologie – AgroSciences et B3ESTE.
D’autre part, au niveau de l’ensemble de la communauté des chimistes, il fait partie du Pôle Chimie Balard qui regroupe l’ensemble des chimistes de l’académie de Montpellier (www.polechimie-balard.fr).

Disciplines : Sciences chimiques et ses interfaces

Mots-clés : Chimie pour la santé, biologie et pharmacie, chimie verte et durable, matériaux et procédés pour l’énergie.

Unités de recherche

Plateformes technologiques ou de services pour la Recherche

Economie

Directeur du département : Edmond Baranes

Présentation générale :

Le Département scientifique Économie est l’un des 9 Départements scientifiques de l’Université de Montpellier. Sa mission principale consiste à coordonner la recherche et à renforcer le lien recherche-formation en Économie. Il regroupe deux structures de recherche, ART-DEV (Acteurs Ressources et Territoires dans le Développement – UMR 5281) (UMR CIRAD/CNRS/UM/UPVD/UPVM) et le LAMETA (Laboratoire Montpelliérain d’Économie Théorique et Appliquée – UMR 5474) (UMR CNRS/INRA/UM/UPVM/SupAgroMontpellier) et l’UFR Économie de l’Université de Montpellier.

Le Département Économie regroupe des Enseignants-Chercheurs et des Chercheurs et personnels techniques des organismes tels que le CNRS, l’INRA, le CIRAD,… Au total, ce sont plus de 70 enseignants-chercheurs et chercheurs qui travaillent dans le domaine de la recherche en économie et développent des projets interdisciplinaires et pluridisciplinaires en lien avec le domaine Économie.

Les travaux et activités de recherche du Département scientifique Économie se déclinent principalement autour de quatre thématiques :

  • Économie de l’environnement, ressources naturelles et régulations environnementales ;
  • Développement, agriculture et politiques publiques des territoires ;
  • Économie comportementale et choix publics ;
  • Économie industrielle et politiques publiques sectorielles.

Le Département scientifique Économie est également impliqué dans trois LabEx : LabEx Agro-Fondation Agropolis, LaBex CeMEB et LabEx Entreprendre.

Disciplines : Économie

Mots-clés : Politiques publiques ; Développement et Territoires ; Ethique sociale ; Concurrence ; Industries ; Économie numérique ; Énergie ; Transport ; Eau ; Santé ; Réglementation ; Environnement ; Comportements ; Ressources naturelles ; Biodiversité.

Unités de recherche

Education

Directrice du département : Brigitte Louichon

Présentation générale : Le département Education regroupe deux structures de recherche le LIRDEF (Laboratoire Interdisciplinaire en Didactique Éducation Formation – EA 3749) et SanteSih (Santé, Éducation et Situations de Handicap – EA 4614) dont les travaux embrassent les problématiques de l’enseignement/apprentissage, de la formation professionnelle dans des contextes variés (scolaire, social, santé…) et de production et réduction des situations de handicaps.

Disciplines : Sciences de l’éducation ; Didactique des disciplines (maths, sciences, langues, arts, …) ; STAPS ; Sciences politiques ; Sociologie ; Psychologie.

Mots-clés : Education ; Enseignement ; Apprentissage ; Formation ; Handicap ; Politiques publiques.

Unités de recherche

Gestion

Directrice du département : Véronique Bessière

Présentation générale : Le département scientifique Gestion regroupe au sein du laboratoire Montpellier Recherche en Management (MRM) l’ensemble des équipes de recherche en Gestion de l’Université de Montpellier, de Montpellier Business School et de l’Université de Perpignan Via Domitia. MRM compte plus de 140 chercheurs permanents et 90 doctorants, ce qui constitue le plus important laboratoire en gestion de France.
En tant que laboratoire en gestion, il est affilié à titre principal à l’Ecole Doctorale Economie Gestion de Montpellier (EDEG, ED n°231).
Depuis septembre 2011, MRM est laboratoire coordinateur du LABEX « Entreprendre ».
Disciplines : Gestion.

Mots-clés : Gestion ; Management ; Innovation ; Management responsable ; Comptabilité ; Entrepreneuriat ; Finance ; GRH ; Marketing ; Stratégie, Systèmes d’information. Altermanagement.

Site web

Unités de recherche

Mathématiques, informatique, physique et systèmes

Directeur du département : Marc Herzlich

Présentation générale : Le Département scientifique « Mathématiques, Informatique, Physique et Systèmes » (MIPS) rassemble les laboratoires de recherche de l’Université de Montpellier dans toutes les disciplines des mathématiques, des sciences physiques et des sciences et technologies de l’information et de la communication.
Les 8 laboratoires du département regroupent environ 500 enseignants-chercheurs et chercheurs permanents et 400 chercheurs et enseignants non-permanents (dont 300 doctorants), œuvrant dans tous les domaines du secteur MIPS. Ils sont accompagnés par plus de 200 personnels techniques et administratifs. Le département pilote également 8 plateformes technologiques ou de services pour la recherche dotées d’équipements performants pour la recherche.
Le département contribue également au renforcement du lien entre recherche et formation universitaire dans son domaine thématique, en association avec la Faculté des Sciences, la Faculté de Médecine, l’Ecole Polytechnique Universitaire de Montpellier (Polytech Montpellier) et les 3 Instituts Universitaires de Technologie de l’Université de Montpellier.

Disciplines : Mathématiques ; Informatique ; Physique et astrophysique ; Mécanique et génie civil ; Electronique, micro- et nano-électronique ; Robotique.

Rayonnement : Les laboratoires du Département scientifique MIPS sont reconnus internationalement dans toutes les disciplines du secteur thématique. Ils abritent 2 lauréats des appels à projets du Conseil Européen de la Recherche (ERC), 7 membres de l’Institut Universitaire de France (et 7 anciens membres) et 8 récipiendaires de médailles et prix du CNRS. Ils sont impliqués dans 4 Laboratoires d’Excellence (LabEx) et 4 Equipements d’Excellence (EquipEx) financés par le Programme Investissements d’Avenir. Le Département scientifique a en particulier été à l’origine du LabEx NuMEV http://www.lirmm.fr/numev/ (solutions Numériques et Matérielles pour l’Environnement et le Vivant) destiné à renforcer les interfaces entre les « sciences dures » et l’ensemble de la recherche en biologie et environnement du site de Montpellier. Ces activités de recherche de premier plan permettent ainsi à l’Université de Montpellier d’apparaître avec de très bons rangs dans de nombreux classements internationaux spécialisés en « physique et astronomie », « sciences physiques et ingénierie » ou « mathématiques et informatique ».

Unités de recherche

Plateformes technologiques ou de services pour la Recherche

  • Centrale de technologie en micro et nanoélectronique
  • Centre Spatial Universitaire (CSU)
  • Coordination Nationale de la Formation en Microélectronique et nanotechnologies (CNFM)
  • Laboratoire du froid
  • Magasin de physique et de métallurgie
  • Mesocentre HPC@LR
  • Plateforme d’imagerie RMN
  • Spectrométrie Infrarouge et Raman

En continuant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépot de cookie d'analyse du traffic nous permettant d'améliorer nos services à l'aide des statistiques de consultation. En savoir plus

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.

Close