As the bearers of strong projects for the University, the foundations meet the needs of companies and industrialists. They give students and doctoral candidates new opportunities to carry out their professional projects.

University of Montpellier Foundation

Support for header companies

The University of Montpellier Foundation affirms the University of Montpellier's desire to open up to the business world. In order to create links between the professional and academic worlds, it sets up actions supported by the patronage of its public and private partners, particularly for students and researchers.

Many of the chairs created within the framework of the Foundation have become spaces for collaboration and sharing between researchers and companies in certain key areas of our region: the wine sector, health, crafts, and sports. Through their research activities and the conferences they organise, these chairs help to take account of the problems of companies within the University. They also contribute to the dissemination of the UM's work within the local economic fabric.

Developing the entrepreneurial spirit among students, supporting research, listening to the needs of companies and meeting the expectations of society are the main objectives of the University of Montpellier Foundation.

University of Montpellier Foundation

Van Allen Foundation

Space Mag Campus

The Van Allen Foundation is entirely dedicated to space, and in particular to nanosatellites, a field in which it supports the training of tomorrow's executives. As the project leader of the University Space Centre (CSU), it acts as a link between the space industry, which is looking for operational staff, and students trained in cutting-edge technologies.

The Van Allen Foundation supports the development of nanosatellites from A to Z by students at the CSU. This is a concrete project and a real professional springboard that allows them to develop the skills that meet the expectations of companies in the space and high technology sectors.

By developing thefirst French CSU, the Van Allen Foundation and the University of Montpellier are the first in France to invest in the promising sector of university nanosatellites. The Van Allen Foundation is supported by the French Space Agency (CNES) and the European Space Agency (ESA), and backed by leading figures in the field.

Van Allen Foundation

The corporate foundation for the rehabilitation of the Jardin des plantes in Montpellier


Aware of its historical identity and concerned about protecting what makes it strong, the University of Montpellier, under the aegis of its president Philippe Augé, has decided to call on companies to help it preserve this priceless heritage and carry out the second phase of renovation work.

23 companies immediately signed up to the project. The foundation will finance a large part of the restoration of the Orangery and its surroundings.

Functioning of the Foundation

The corporate foundation for the rehabilitation of the Jardin des Plantes in Montpellier obtained approval from the Hérault Prefecture on 21 September 2016. Its objective:

  • to enhance the value of the Jardin des Plantes
  • promote this historic site to the public
  • to organise or participate in scientific, cultural or artistic events linked to the site and more widely to the University of Montpellier.

Future projects

The Orangery rehabilitation project involves the restoration of the building in relation to its use since the beginning of the 19th century (an unheated glazed shelter to keep plants in tubs and pots frost-free during the bad season), but also the development of the site of the former Planchon greenhouses, including the relocation of chapel no. 5.

The operation is planned in 2 phases of work:

  • A first stage concerning the surroundings of the Orangery
  • A second tranche, the object of which is the Orangery itself

Foundation for Chronic Diseases and Active Ageing - Languedoc-Roussillon (FMAC VIA-LR)

The European Union is experiencing considerable demographic ageing. This is putting at risk the sustainability of public finances, including health care funding. The increase in life expectancy is accompanied by a change in the main causes of morbidity and mortality, with over 70% attributable to chronic diseases.

The prevention and understanding of chronic diseases and ageing are at the heart of the European Union's concerns and now constitute a major public health and research axis for the Montpellier-Nîmes site.

The Partnership Foundation called "Foundation for Chronic Diseases and Active Ageing - Languedoc-Roussillon (FMAC VIA-LR)" meets this strategic commitment. It was founded by the University of Montpellier, the University Hospital Centres of Montpellier and Nîmes and the Occitanie Region and was created by order of the Rector of the Montpellier Academy, Chancellor of the Universities, on 9 September 2015 (MENESR: Ministry of National Education, Higher Education and Research).

The European Union has labelled 74 Reference Sites including MACVIA-France (Against Chronic Diseases for Active and Healthy Ageing in France). This site includes centres in the Occitanie region with Montpellier, Nîmes and Toulouse, the metropolis of Nice and an INSERM research centre in Paris.

The Reference Site responds to all the axes proposed by the Commission (polymedication in the elderly, prevention and management of falls, frailty, chronic diseases, friendly cities and Silver Economy). It is based on the recognised excellence of the participants. The MACVIA-France Reference Site is supported by the FMAC VIA-LR Partnership Foundation.

MAC VIA-LR Foundation

Fondations

Fondations 2017-11-24T11:09:19+00:00

Porteuses de projets forts de l’Université, les fondations répondent aux besoins des entreprises et des industriels. Elles donnent aux étudiants et aux doctorants de nouvelles possibilités pour réaliser leurs projets professionnels.

Fondation Université de Montpellier

Accompagnement des entreprises header

La Fondation Université de Montpellier affirme la volonté d’ouverture de l’Université de Montpellier vers le monde de l’Entreprise. Pour créer des liens entre les mondes professionnel et universitaire, elle met en place des actions soutenues par le mécénat de ses partenaires publics et privés, à destination, notamment, des étudiants et des chercheurs.

De nombreuses chaires créées dans le cadre de la Fondation sont devenues des espaces de collaboration et de partage entre les chercheurs et les entreprises dans certains domaines phares de notre région : secteur viti-vinicole, santé, artisanat, sport. Par leurs activités de recherche et les colloques qu’elles organisent, ces chaires participent à la prise en compte des problématiques des entreprises au sein de l’Université. Elles contribuent également à la diffusion des travaux de l’UM au sein du tissu économique local.

Développer l’esprit d’entreprendre chez les étudiants, soutenir la recherche, être à l’écoute des besoins des entreprises et répondre aux attentes de la société, tels sont donc les grands objectifs de la Fondation Université de Montpellier.

Fondation Université de Montpellier

Fondation Van Allen

Campus Mag spatial

La Fondation Van Allen est entièrement dédiée au spatial, et en particulier aux nanosatellites, domaine dans lequel elle soutient la formation des cadres de demain. Porteuse des projets du Centre Spatial Universitaire (CSU), elle fait le lien entre l’industrie spatiale à la recherche de collaborateurs opérationnels et les étudiants formés aux technologies de pointe.

La Fondation Van Allen soutient le développement de A à Z de nanosatellites par les étudiants, au CSU. Un projet concret et un réel tremplin professionnel qui leur permet de développer les compétences qui répondent aux attentes des entreprises du secteur spatial et de la haute technologie.

En développant le 1er CSU français, la Fondation Van Allen et l’Université de Montpellier sont les premières en France à s’investir dans le secteur porteur d’avenir des nanosatellites universitaires. La Fondation Van Allen est accompagnée par l’Agence Spatiale Française (CNES) et l’Agence Spatiale Européenne (ESA), et soutenue par de grandes personnalités du domaine.

Fondation Van Allen

La fondation d’entreprises pour la réhabilitation du Jardin des plantes de Montpellier


Consciente de son identité historique et soucieuse de protéger ce qui fait sa force, l’Université de Montpellier, a décidé sous l’égide de son président Philippe Augé, de faire appel aux entreprises  pour l’aider à préserver cet inestimable patrimoine et mener à bien la 2e  phase des travaux de rénovation.

23 entreprises ont immédiatement adhéré au projet. La fondation financera une grande partie de la restauration de l’Orangerie et de ses abords.

Fonctionnement de la Fondation

La fondation d’entreprises pour la réhabilitation du Jardin des Plantes de Montpellier a obtenu l’agrément de la Préfecture de l’Hérault le 21 septembre 2016. Son objectif :

  • valoriser le Jardin des Plantes
  • promouvoir ce lieu historique auprès du public
  • organiser ou participer à des manifestations scientifiques, culturelles ou artistiques, liées au site et plus largement à l’Université de Montpellier.

Les chantiers à venir

Le projet de réhabilitation de l’Orangerie porte sur la remise en état du bâtiment en relation avec son usage depuis le début du XIXe siècle (un abri vitré non chauffé permettant de maintenir hors gel les plantes en bacs et pots durant la mauvaise saison), mais également sur l’aménagement du site des anciennes serres Planchon, y compris le déplacement de la chapelle n°5.

L’opération est prévue en 2 tranches de travaux :

  • Une première tranche qui concerne les abords de l’Orangerie
  • Une seconde tranche dont l’objet est l’Orangerie elle même

Fondation des Maladies Chroniques et du Vieillissement Actif – Languedoc-Roussillon (FMAC VIA-LR)

L’Union européenne connaît un vieillissement démographique considérable. Cette évolution met en péril la durabilité des finances publiques dont le financement des soins de santé. L’augmentation de l’espérance de vie s’accompagne d’un changement des principales causes de morbidité et de mortalité, plus de 70 % étant imputables aux maladies chroniques.

La prévention et la compréhension des maladies chroniques et du vieillissement sont au centre des préoccupations de l’Union Européenne et constituent désormais un axe de santé publique majeur et de recherche important pour le site de Montpellier-Nîmes.

La Fondation Partenariale appelée « Fondation des Maladies Chroniques et du Vieillissement Actif – Languedoc-Roussillon (FMAC VIA-LR) » répond à cet engagement stratégique. Elle a été fondée par l’Université de Montpellier, les CHU de Montpellier et de Nîmes et la Région Occitanie et a été créée par arrêté de Madame le Recteur de l’académie de Montpellier, chancelière des universités, le 9 septembre 2015 (MENESR: Ministère de l’Education nationale, de l’Enseignement supérieur et de la Recherche).

L’Union Européenne a labellisé 74 Sites de Référence  dont MACVIA-France (Contre les Maladies Chroniques pour un Vieillissement Actifs et en Bonne Santé en France). Ce Site comporte des centres de la Région Occitanie avec Montpellier, Nîmes et Toulouse, la métropole de Nice et un centre de recherche INSERM parisien.

Le Site de Référence répond à tous les axes proposés par la Commission (polymédication chez le sujet âgé, prévention et prise en charge des chutes, fragilité, maladies chroniques, villes amies et Silver Economie). Il est fondé sur l’excellence reconnue des participants. Le Site de Référence MACVIA-France est porté par la Fondation Partenariale FMAC VIA-LR.

Fondation MAC VIA-LR