In January 2015, the merger of the Universities of Montpellier 1 and Montpellier 2 heralded the appearance of the new University of Montpellier. However, 2015 was not the year of its birth. Rooted in the history of its city and region, the University of Montpellier is one of the oldest practising universities in Europe.

Statutes of the medical school 1220 Montpellier appeared around the year 980 and was from the outset a place of meetings and exchanges between Christian, Jewish and Muslim cultures. The city's university vocation was confirmed in the medical field with the authorisation in 1180 to practice and teach medicine. A century later, the teaching of medicine was recognised by the Church, making Montpellier the oldest practising medical school in the Western world.

At the same time, jurists began to gather in Montpellier around renowned professors such as Placentin of Bologna. In 1289, the University of Montpellier was officially created by the Quia sapientia bull of Pope Nicholas IV. Bearing the name Studium generale, it grouped together courses in medicine, law, literature and theology.

The University of Montpellier was created by and for its teachers and students and has a great deal of autonomy in its operation. One of its deepest characteristics is the preponderance of medicine and, increasingly, of law.

Dissection by Gui de Chauliac (ca. 1290-1368)In the 16the In the 19th century, the city of Montpellier became a high-level intellectual centre and asserted its position as a European crossroads of law and medicine. It attracted many scholars and scientists who shared humanist values, including François Rabelais, Guillaume Rondelet and Pierre Richer de Belleval.
Universities are developing more and more in France and are competing with the University of Montpellier. In order to compete with its rivals, the University of Montpellier was granted original specificities: anatomy, botany, biology, etc. Close to medicine, the study of medicinal plants became more and more widespread in Montpellier with the creation of the Jardin des plantes in 1593. The city was considered the capital of botany until the 18th century.e century.

Like all French universities, Montpellier's was abolished during the Revolution. This did not prevent the professors of medicine from teaching in a semi-clandestine manner. But the need for structured teaching appeared in Frimaire Year III (December 1794). The Convention then founded three health schools, in Paris, Strasbourg and Montpellier.

It was at this time that the School of Medicine moved into the premises of the former bishop's palace, where it is still located today. In 1803, the School of Pharmacy completed the scientific education in Montpellier. As for the Faculty of Law, it was forgotten in 1808 and was not founded until 1878.

Former School of Pharmacy 1854The scientific landscape of Montpellier changed in the early 19th century.e century with the creation of the Faculty of Sciences in 1809. At the time, it had seven professorships: transcendental mathematics, astronomy, physics, chemistry, zoology, botany and mineralogy. At the end of the 19th century, the Faculty of Science was founded.e In the 19th century, all the city's faculties were united in a single university, housed in the university palace, now the rector's office.

Montpellier's institutions continued to develop throughout the 20th century, fully participating in the scientific explosion that marked this period, weaving a dense network of teaching and research structures. The Faure Law (12 November 1968) gave birth to three new universities:

  • University of Montpellier I,
  • University of Montpellier II,
  • Montpellier III Paul Valéry University.

The faculties (law, literature, medicine, sciences, pharmacy) cease to exist and become either UERs (then UFRs) for medicine, law and pharmacy (UM1), or full universities for literature (UM3) and sciences (UM2).

A new page in the shared history of the Universities of Montpellier 1 and Montpellier 2 opened with the launch of the merger process in September 2012. In search of national and international influence, the two universities combined their complementary strengths and the University of Montpellier was born on 1 January 2015. With 17 educational components, 73 research units and more than 48,000 students, it becomes the largest university in Languedoc-Roussillon and the 6th largest in France.

Histoire de l’Université

En janvier 2015, la fusion des Universités Montpellier 1 et Montpellier 2 annonce l’apparition de la nouvelle Université de Montpellier. 2015 n’est pas pour autant son année de naissance. Enracinée dans l’histoire de sa ville et de sa région, l’Université de Montpellier est l’une des plus anciennes universités en exercice d’Europe.

Moyen Âge

Statuts de l’école de médecine 1220 Apparu vers l’an 980, Montpellier est d’emblée un lieu de rencontres et d’échanges entre les cultures chrétienne, juive et musulmane. La vocation universitaire de la ville s’affirme dans le domaine médical avec l’autorisation en 1180 d’exercer et d’enseigner la médecine. Et un siècle plus tard, l’enseignement de médecine est reconnu par l’Église, ce qui fait de Montpellier la plus ancienne École de Médecine en exercice du monde occidental.

A la même époque, les juristes commencent à se rassembler à Montpellier autour de professeurs renommés comme Placentin de Bologne. En 1289, l’Université de Montpellier est créée officiellement par la bulle Quia sapientia du pape Nicolas IV. Portant le nom  d’un Studium generale, elle regroupe à l’époque les enseignements en médecine, droit, lettres et théologie.

L’Université de Montpellier est créée par et pour ses maîtres et élèves et possède une grande autonomie dans son fonctionnement. Une de ses caractéristiques profondes est la prépondérance de la médecine et, de plus en plus, du droit.

Renaissance

Dissection par Gui de Chauliac (env.1290-1368)Au XVIe siècle, la ville de Montpellier devient un centre intellectuel de haut niveau et affirme sa position de carrefour européen du droit et de la médecine. Elle attire, à cette époque, de nombreux érudits et scientifiques partageant les valeurs humanistes, parmi lesquelles François Rabelais, Guillaume Rondelet ou encore Pierre Richer de Belleval.
Les universités se développent de plus en plus en France et font concurrence à celle de Montpellier. Pour faire face à ses rivales, l’Université de Montpellier se voit octroyer des spécificités originales : anatomie, botanique, biologie, etc. Proche de la médecine, l’étude des plantes médicinales se répand de plus en plus à Montpellier avec la création du Jardin des plantes, en 1593. La ville sera considérée comme la capitale de la botanique jusqu’aux XVIIIe siècle.

Révolution

Comme toutes les universités françaises, celle de Montpellier est abolie pendant la Révolution. Cela n’empêche pas les professeurs de médecine d’enseigner dans une semi-clandestinité. Mais la nécessité des enseignements structurés apparaît en frimaire an III (décembre 1794). La Convention fonde alors trois Écoles de Santé, à Paris, Strasbourg et Montpellier.

C’est à ce moment-là, que l’École de Médecine s’installe dans les locaux de l’ancien évêché où elle se trouve toujours. En 1803, l’apparition de l’École de Pharmacie complète l’enseignement scientifique à Montpellier. Quant à la Faculté de Droit, elle sera oubliée en 1808 et ne sera fondée qu’en 1878.

XIXe siècle

Ancienne École de Pharmacie 1854Le paysage scientifique de Montpellier change au début du XIXe siècle avec la création de la Faculté des Sciences en 1809. Elle est dotée à l’époque de sept chaires magistrales : mathématiques transcendantes, astronomie, physique, chimie, zoologie, botanique et minéralogie. La fin du XIXe siècle est marquée par l’unification de toutes les facultés de la ville au sein d’une seule et unique université, installée dans le palais universitaire, actuel rectorat.

XXe siècle

Les établissements montpelliérains poursuivent leur développement tout au long du XXe siècle, s’associant pleinement à l’explosion scientifique qui marque cette époque, tissant un dense réseau de structures d’enseignement et de recherche. La Loi Faure (12 novembre 1968) donne naissance à trois nouvelles universités :

  • l’université Montpellier I,
  • l’université Montpellier II,
  • l’université Montpellier III Paul Valéry.

Les facultés (droit, lettres, médecine, sciences, pharmacie) cessent d’exister et deviennent soit des UER (puis UFR) pour médecine, droit et pharmacie (UM1), soit des universités de plein exercice pour les lettres (UM3) et les sciences (UM2).

XXIe siècle : la fusion

Une nouvelle page de l’histoire commune des Universités Montpellier 1 et Montpellier 2 s’ouvre avec le lancement du processus de fusion en septembre 2012. A la recherche de rayonnement national et international, les deux universités réunissent leurs forces complémentaires et l’Université de Montpellier voit le jour le 1er janvier 2015. Avec 17 composantes de formation, 72 unités de recherche et plus de 40 000 étudiants, elle devient la plus grande université du Languedoc-Roussillon et la 6e de France.

 

 

En continuant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépot de cookie d'analyse du traffic nous permettant d'améliorer nos services à l'aide des statistiques de consultation. En savoir plus

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.

Close