The higher education system in France was reformed with the Bologna process, which aims at creating shared European standards for university studies. There are three principal degrees:

  • Bachelor (“Licence”): three years (6 semesters) = 180 ECTS
  • Master (“Master”): two years (10 semesters in total) = 300 ECTS
  • Doctorate (“Doctorat”): three years on average (16 semesters in total) = 480 ECTS

Each level is attained by acquiring ECTS (European Credit Transfer System) credits. The academic year is divided into two semesters, and the validation of one semester is equivalent to 30 ECTS credits. The accumulation of credits at the higher education level depends on academic workload, number of course hours and course objectives.

The University of Montpellier offers multidisciplinary training in highly professionalized fields. The training offer is structured around two main areas: “Economic / Management / Law” and “Health / Technology / Sciences” with courses of excellence during the License’s degree (Bachelor’s degree), the Professional License’s degree and the Master’s degree programs.

Doctoral training is particularly developed at the University of Montpellier. Being oriented towards the challenges emerging from society, they are supported, and energized, by doctoral schools and the doctoral college.

The strength of the attractiveness of the training provided by the UM outcomes from the high rate of professional integration of students. Between 80 and 90% of Master’s graduates are hired 30 months after graduation.