The dissemination of scientific culture means the transmission of knowledge, techniques and know-how between science and society. This is one of the missions of the universities and it is a voluntary approach that mobilises the University of Montpellier and its scientific community: researchers, teacher-researchers, doctoral students, etc.

Scientific culture is full of actors and initiatives aiming to push back the frontiers of knowledge. Its dissemination aims at sharing, exchanging, experiencing and debating ideas on scientific issues. At the University of Montpellier, it is illustrated in particular by :

  • Disseminating scientific knowledge to as many people as possible
  • Promoting scientific and technical careers among young people
  • The development of exchanges and partnerships
  • Training in scientific mediation (master students, doctoral students)

The UM's scientific culture services coordinate the dialogue between science and society through a wide range of events on the University of Montpellier's network of campuses and beyond, for a public of citizens, students, high school pupils and schools. To do this, the teams work with numerous partners: research organisations, CCSTI, associations, cultural centres, public and private institutions.

The Science Bar: the thirst for knowledge!

The Scientific Culture services offer an annual season of Bar des sciences on science and society topics. The Science Bar, produced by the University of Montpellier in partnership with INRAE, INSERM and IRD, has for several years been offering monthly scientific culture events contributing to the dialogue between science and society. Unlike formal conferences, these debates are invitations to exchanges between specialists in a subject and the general public.

The Science Festival

The Fête de la science is a major annual event for scientific culture. Thanks to the mobilisation of actors in the faculties, research organisations, laboratories, associations, etc., science is exhibited and brought to life through varied, surprising and astonishing activities.

The University of Montpellier is coordinating the event at the level of the Hérault department and is piloting the Montpellier Science Village located in the Faculty of Education. Placed under the sign of exploration and discovery, the Montpellier Science Village is full of activities for young and old alike: workshops, demonstrations, experiments, games, screenings, conferences... A great opportunity for exciting encounters, sharing of knowledge and discoveries to better understand the world around us and imagine the future!

The highlights of the 2020 Science Village in digital format can be found on the UM's YouTube channel.

Exhibition "NounOURS, from the cave bear to the teddy bear

The next exhibition proposed by the Scientific Culture Department is a continuation of the original educational and scientific popularisation operation called "peluchology", which was created in 2010. Designed to travel, it is made up of museographic panels, display cases of objects, collections of books and teddy bears. It is a beautiful tribute to this noble and sacred animal, fallen god and king of teddy bears.

cs.umontpellier.fr - Facebook

Contact

Scientific Culture Department
Institute of Botany
163 rue Auguste Broussonnet 34090 Montpellier
Tel: 04 34 43 33 82
Email - cs.umontpellier.fr - Facebook

Website

La diffusion de la culture scientifique se traduit par la transmission des connaissances, techniques et savoir-faire entre sciences et société. C’est l’une des missions des universités et c’est une démarche volontaire qui mobilise l’Université de Montpellier et sa communauté scientifique : chercheurs, enseignants-chercheurs, doctorants, …

La culture scientifique foisonne d’acteurs et d’initiatives visant à repousser les frontières de la connaissance. Sa diffusion vise le partage, l’échange, l’expérience et le débat d’idées autour de questions scientifiques. A l’Université de Montpellier, elle s’illustre notamment par :

  • La diffusion des savoirs scientifiques auprès du plus grand nombre
  • La valorisation des métiers scientifiques et techniques auprès des jeunes
  • Le développement des échanges et des partenariats
  • La formation à la médiation scientifique (étudiants en master, doctorants)

Les services de culture scientifique de l’UM coordonnent le dialogue entre science et société au travers de multiples événements, sur le réseau de campus de l’Université de Montpellier et hors les murs, pour un public de citoyens, d’étudiants, lycéens et scolaires. Pour cela, les équipes collaborent avec de nombreux partenaires : organismes de recherche, CCSTI, associations, centre culturels, institutions publiques et privées.

Le Bar des sciences : la soif de savoir !

Les services Culture Scientifique proposent une saison annuelle de Bar des sciences sur des sujets sciences et société. Le Bar des sciences, produit par l’Université de Montpellier, en partenariat avec l’INRAE, l’INSERM et l’IRD, offre depuis plusieurs années des rendez-vous mensuels de culture scientifique contribuant au dialogue entre sciences et société. Aux antipodes de conférences formelles, ces débats sont des invitations aux échanges entre les spécialistes d’un sujet et le grand public.

La Fête de la science

La Fête de la science est un événement annuel majeur de culture scientifique. Grâce à la mobilisation d’acteurs dans les Facultés, organismes de recherche, laboratoires, associations… les sciences s’exposent et prennent vie autour d’animations variées, surprenantes et étonnantes.

L’Université de Montpellier coordonne l’événement à l’échelle du département de l’Hérault et pilote le Village des sciences de Montpellier implanté à la Faculté d’Education. Placé sous le signe de l’exploration et de la découverte, le village des sciences de Montpellier foisonne d’animations destinées aux petits comme aux grands : ateliers, démonstrations, expérimentations, jeux, projections, conférences… Une belle occasion de rencontres passionnantes, de partages de savoirs et de découvertes pour mieux comprendre le monde qui nous entoure et imaginer l’avenir !

Les temps forts du Village des Sciences 2020 proposés en format numérique sont à retrouver sur la chaîne YouTube de l’UM.

Exposition « NounOURS, de l’ours des cavernes à l’ours en peluche »

La prochaine exposition proposée par le service Culture Scientifique s’inscrit dans le prolongement de la peluchologie, opération de pédagogie originale et de vulgarisation scientifique imaginée en 2010. Conçue pour être itinérante, elle est constituée de panneaux muséographiques, vitrines d’objets, collections de livres et d’ours en peluche. Elle rend ainsi un bel hommage à cet animal noble et sacré, dieu déchu et roi des peluches : l’ours.

cs.umontpellier.frFacebook

Contact

Service Culture Scientifique
Institut de botanique
163 rue Auguste Broussonnet 34090 Montpellier
Tél. : 04 34 43 33 82
Courrielcs.umontpellier.frFacebook

Site web