Water week at the UM

  • Category: Seminars, conferences, competitions
  • Dates : February 12 to 16, 2024
  • Location:

From February 12 to 16, 2024, the University of Montpellier will be honoring the theme of water. Against a backdrop of demographic pressure, land-use planning under strain, and climate change marked by the increasingly frequent occurrence of extreme weather events, Montpellier's academic and scientific community is mobilizing around this theme through three highlights:

  • The 23rd Polytech Montpellier "water" seminar organized by students in the "Water Sciences and Technologies" specialization and students in the "Water and Civil Engineering" specialization at Polytech Montpellier, focusing on the themes of megabassins (hydrology), wastewater reuse for new uses (process engineering) and hydromorphological characterization tools for watercourses.

February 12 to 14, 2024

  • Honorary doctorate conferred by the University of Montpellier on Prof. Soroosh Sorooshian (University of California, Irvine)

February 13, 2024 at 3 p.m.

  • The Water4Future Students hackathons organized by UM Icireward's UNESCO International Center, a competition in which students from all over the world will set up innovative projects addressing water-related issues. Participants will benefit from the presence of hydrologist Soroosh Sorooshian and academician Erik Orsenna, who will help teams prepare their presentations.

February 15 and 16, 2024 

France's leading university in the "Water resources" field in the Shanghai world rankings, the University of Montpellier is recognized as an international center for water sciences, with 15 research laboratories, 400 scientists and 150 doctoral students. This recognition is reflected in the creation, in 2020, of an international center under the auspices of Unesco dedicated to water: Icireward .


Receive a weekly summary of the UM agenda

* By entering your e-mail address you agree to receive the weekly UM agenda summary by e-mail and you acknowledge our privacy policy. You can unsubscribe at any time using the unsubscribe link or by contacting us by e-mail.

Semaine de l’eau à l’UM

  • Catégorie : Séminaire, conférence, concours
  • Dates : Du 12 au 16 février 2024
  • Lieu :

Du 12 au 16 février 2024, l’Université de Montpellier met à l’honneur le thème de l’eau. Dans un contexte de pression démographique, d’aménagement du territoire sous tension, et de changement climatique marqué par la survenue de plus en plus fréquente d’évènements météorologiques extrêmes, la communauté académique et scientifique montpelliéraine se mobilise autour de cette thématique à travers trois temps forts :

  • Le 23ème séminaire « eau » de Polytech Montpellier organisé par les élèves de la spécialité « Sciences et technologies de l’Eau » et les élèves de la spécialité « Eau et génie civil de Polytech Montpellier autour de thèmes des mégabassines (hydrologie), de la réutilisation des eaux usées pour de nouveaux usages (génie des procédés) et des outils de caractérisation hydromorphologique des cours d’eau

Du 12 au 14 février 2024

  • La remise du titre de Docteur honoris causa de l’Université de Montpellier au Pr. Soroosh Sorooshian (University of California, Irvine)

Le 13 février 2024 à 15h

  • Le Water4Future Students hackathons organisé par le Centre international UNESCO de l’UM Icireward, un concours où étudiantes et étudiants du monde entier vont mettre en place des projets innovants répondant aux problématiques liées au domaine de l’eau. Les participantes et participants bénéficieront de la présence de l’hydrologue Soroosh Sorooshian et de l’académicien Erik Orsenna qui accompagnera les équipes à préparer leur présentation.

Les 15 et 16 février 2024 

Première université française dans le domaine « Water resources » au classement mondial de Shanghai, l’Université de Montpellier est reconnue comme un pôle international des sciences de l’eau qui regroupe 15 laboratoires de recherche, 400 scientifiques et 150 doctorantes et doctorants. Cette reconnaissance s’incarne notamment par la création, en 2020, d’un centre international sous l’égide de l’Unesco dédié à l’eau : Icireward .


Recevoir un récapitulatif de l’agenda de l’UM chaque semaine

* En renseignant votre mail vous acceptez de recevoir chaque semaine le récapitulatif de l’agenda de l’UM par courrier électronique et vous prenez connaissance de notre politique de confidentialité. Vous pouvez vous désinscrire à tout moment à l’aide du lien de désinscription ou en nous contactant par mail.